In Limerick Diocese, Church weddings can take place on any day other than Sundays, Holy Days and the Major Feast Days. See below the dates that are not available for Church weddings. In addition Special Church celebration days (Christmas Eve, and Feast of All Souls on 2nd November) would in general not be available.

2024 Major Feast Days and Holy Days of Obligation

Saturday 6th January – Feast of the Epiphany
Wednesday 14th February – Ash Wednesday
Sunday 17th March – Saint Patrick’s Day
28th–30th March Holy Week Triduum: Holy Thursday, Good Friday, Holy Saturday
Thursday 15th August – Assumption of Mary
Friday 1st November – All Saints’ Day
Monday 9th December – Immaculate Conception – transferred from Sunday December 8 for this year as the Second Sunday of Advent takes precedence.
Wednesday 25th December – Christmas Day

2025 Major Feast Days and Holy Days of Obligation

Monday 6th January – Feast of the Epiphany
Wednesday 5th March – Ash Wednesday
Monday 17th March – Saint Patrick’s Day
17th–19th April Holy Week Triduum: Holy Thursday, Good Friday, Holy Saturday
Friday 15th August – Assumption of Mary
Saturday 1st November – All Saints’ Day
Monday 8th December – Immaculate Conception
Thursday 25th December – Christmas Day

2026 Major Feast Days and Holy Days of Obligation

Tuesday 6th January – Feast of the Epiphany
Wednesday 18th February – Ash Wednesday
Tuesday 17th March – Saint Patrick’s Day
2nd–4th April Holy Week Triduum: Holy Thursday, Good Friday, Holy Saturday
Saturday 15th August – Assumption of Mary
Sunday 1st November – All Saints’ Day
Tuesday 8th December – Immaculate Conception
Friday 25th December – Christmas Day